Florida Surf Film Festival Announces 2016 Programming

New Smyrna Beach, FL – Florida Surf Film Festival (FSFF), presented by Monster Energy, is proud to announce the official selections for the feature film and short film categories for the final two nights of programming for its fourth annual festival, November 18-19, 2016, at Atlantic Center for the Arts. Passes are available here, and one-night passes will be on sale at the door for $20 and a two-night pass runs $30.  Patron level support is also available in limited numbers for $125/pp., which includes a festival poster, 2016 limited edition t-shirt, FSFF Tervis Tumbler, dinner both nights from Clancy’s Cantina on-site, two-night festival pass, and four drink tickets (add a spouse for only $75 more). Please email Kevin@floridasurffilmfestival.com with any questions or ticket orders.


Photo: Let’s Be Frank Archive

This year’s feature selections represent the widest range of scope in the history of our festival. With narrative diversity such as the explorations of unknown big wave adventurer, Frank James Solomon, in Let’s Be Frank, to six-year-old, Given Goodwin and his family, fulfilling their unique legacy around the world in Given, a new film by Jess Bianchi and writer Malia Mau, both in attendance.  Then, an underground, women’s big-wave movement charges the cold, massive barrels of Ocean Beach, San Francisco, in It Ain’t Pretty, a new film by Dayla Soul, who will also be in attendance.  Next, meet Brazil’s up and coming filmmaker, Gabriel Novis, and his smile-inducing cinema, Sorria.  There is something for every film fan of every surf genre.  Short films are also prominently represented through this year’s submissions, using a wide-range of filmmaking approaches and topics.

We recognize the difference between Best Traditional Documentary and Best Surf Movie.  Those who approach the art form by documenting a character, locale, etc. with personal interviews, historical footage, and anecdotal clips will be in competition for Best Traditional Documentary, and those movies focusing on the high performance, action-driven sequences will compete for Best Surf Movie. This award will be extended to short films as well. In addition, Best Cinematography and Best Soundtrack will be awarded for both feature and short films, along with a Viewers’ Choice award.

Friday, November 18, 2016


  • Commencement/introduction by John Brooks, Festival Director
  • It Ain’t Pretty, Dayla Soul (Florida Premiere, Feature, 70 min.)


  • Rhymes With Shove – Jamie Brisick (Short, 6 min.)
  • Interview with Jamie Brisick, hosted by Christian Beamish with slideshow of Jamie Brisick’s selected photographs (45-55 min.)


  • Homemade – Alex DePhillipo (World Premiere, Short, 4 min.)
  • South to Sian – Dustin Humphrey (USA East Coast Premiere, Short, 53 min.)


  • Being There – Léa Brassy (USA Premiere, Short, 25 min.)
  • The Accord – R. C. Cone (Florida Premiere, Short, 20 min.)

Saturday, November 19, 2016


  • Alive/Alive – Patrick McMahon (World Premiere, Short, 5 min.)
  • Positive Vibrations – Graham Nash (USA East Coast Sneak Peak, Short, 25 min.)
  • Sorria – Gabriel Novis (USA East Coast Premiere, Feature, 36 min.)


  • Given – Jess Bianchi (USA Mainland Premiere, Feature, 75 min.)


  • Growing – Morgan Maassen (Short, 5 min.)
  • Hi 5 – Zach Weisberg/The Inertia (Short, 10 min.)
  • Let’s Be Frank – Peter Hamblin (USA East Coast Premiere, Feature, 50 min.)

Florida Surf Film Festival’s jury, comprised of eleven individuals with journalistic, cultural, and/or experiential factors will determine recognition for the following awards:

Best Traditional Documentary – Feature; Best Surf Movie – Feature; Best Cinematography – Feature; Best Soundtrack – Feature; Best Traditional Documentary – Short; Best Surf Movie – Short; Best Cinematography – Short; Best Soundtrack – Short

The following two awards are selected by viewers’ enthusiasm for the films during the festival and feedback during the nights of programming to staff:

Viewers’ Choice Award – Feature; Viewers’ Choice Award – Short

Juries include: Feature Jury – Christian Beamish, Joe Turpel, Matt Pruett, Chad Campbell and Ben Mondy.  Short Jury – Matt Warshaw, Lewis Samuels, Matt Kechele, Nick McGregor, Paul Prewitt, and Bryan Forand.

Filmmaker/Photographer/Author Jamie Brisick will be hosting a full-day photojournalism workshop on November 19th; details are available at www.floridasurffilmfestival.com.

We are proud to have Monster Energy serve as our presenting sponsor for this year’s festival, providing travel and lodging for the filmmakers who attend the festival.

Surfline has provided coverage and marketing services for the 2016 festival as our principal media sponsor.

Cigar City Brewing and Green Room Brewing and House 4 Beer will serve as the festival’s official beer sponsors, presenting in the Pabst Visitors Center and Gallery.

We are proud to announce the addition of Grander Premium Rum as the official rum of the festival with the Grander Rum Bar located in the Pabst Visitor Center and Gallery.

Clancy’s Cantina and Café Verde will serve as the festival’s official food sponsor, presented in the Whatmore Commons.

Other sponsors so far include Serenity Springs Recovery Center, Globe, Brian Layman Financial Services, Stance, Octopus, Nectar Eyewear, Nixon Watches, Global Surf Industries, Holistic Movements, Mangrove Bay Design, Frame of Mind, Waterways Travel, Nemerala Beach Resort, La Ponderosa Beach and Jungle Resort, Total Vision, Red Dog Surf Shop and Kembali, Surfrider Foundation (Volusia/Flagler Chapter). A silent auction featuring some of our sponsors’ products will be held in the Pabst Visitor Center and Gallery.

Previously screened features during 2016:

February 19, 2016:

  • Gold – Sterling Spencer
  • View From a Blue Moon – Blake Vincent Kueny

June 17, 2016:

  • License to Chill – Joe Alani
  • Fire and Water – Thomas Brookins Jr.

September 3, 2016:

  • Dream Steeple – Eddie Obrand
  • The Zone – Jack Coleman

Previously screened shorts during 2016:

February 19, 2016

  • Freezing – Jeremy Joyce/Rob Lockyear
  • The More Things Change – Nathan Myers

June 17, 2016

  • The Hunt 2 – Monster Energy
  • Taking Shape – Mike Guest
  • Lunar – Luca Merli
  • Dinghus Dispatches – Ian Durkin

September 3, 2016

  • Journey to the Center – Bryce Lowe-White
  • Com Amor, Yago – Gabriel Novis
  • Mares del Sur – Cripta Imagen
  • The Man & The Sea – Andrew Kaineder

Florida Surf Film Festival mission: 

Florida Surf Film Festival’s mission is to invigorate surf culture through film appreciation and artistic expression by exhibiting contemporary films from filmmakers far and wide with surfing as a focus.